IPO is looking for people who want to:

  • Organize locally around issues in their community

  • Support legislative policy work of the party.

  • Support local candidates.

  • Form local chapters.

Please contact us through this web site to get involved.



The Independent Party of Oregon will conduct an Election to fill a position on the 5-person State Council.  The election will be held on November 26th - November 30th.  The term for the position is 4 years.  The election and survey will be conducted using the approval voting method.

All Independent Party members who are registered with the party on or before September  30, 2021, are eligible to vote in the election.

A candidate for the State Council must have been a member of the party for at least 1 year as of Sept 30th, and must have:


  • volunteered at least 40 hours in party-related activities, such as serving on the nominating caucus or organizing local meetings, during the previous 4 years;

  • maintained an active local chapter of IPO for at least one year; or

  • held elective office for at least 1 year contemporaneous with 1 year of IPO membership, while also working at least 20 volunteer hours for IPO during the previous 2 years.

IPO members wishing to run for State Council should fill out the form below.  Be prepared to include a brief statement about yourself and your interest in serving as well as a recent photo similar to one you might find in a voters’ pamphlet.   The deadline to apply is November 24th, 2021

>> Click here to apply <<

1/27/21 The IPO State Council appointed Kristin Eberhard of Portland to fill a vacancy in position 4 on the state council.

7/25/20 The IPO State Council has nominated one member to fill a vacancy on the state caucus

Clay Bearnson

7/8/20  The IPO State Council has nominated two members to fill vacancies on the state caucus.

Adam Khosroabadi 

Alex Tardif

6/29/20 Nominating Caucus Results:  The following members were elected to the nominating caucus.

Chris Henry                       Chris Telfer               Dan Becker

Dan Meek                          Drew Kaza                Joan Horton

LInda Williams                 Ken Smith                 Rob Harris

Sal Peralta                        Travis Diskin

6/8/20 Member update:  2020 IPO Nominating Caucus 

The Independent Party of Oregon is seeking eligible members to serve on our party's 2020 nominating caucus.  

Eligibility requirements:

  • Continuous IPO member for at least 1 year as of June 1, 2020 and at least one of the following:

  • 50 hours of approved volunteer service on IPO issues (legislative issues, running for office, holding chapter meetings, etc.)

  • Hold local elected office of school board, city council, mayor or county commissioner.

  • Lifetime contributions exceeding $1000 or more.

All IPO members registered by June 1, 2020 will be eligible to vote for candidates to serve on the caucus.  The vote will be held from June 16th - June 31st.  Contact info at indparty dot com for more information.


5/28/20 Member update:  Election results final tally.


2020 IPO Election results official  Click here for results.


5/19/20 Member update:  Election complete, preliminary results.

Biden wins Presidential preference poll, Thatcher, Henry lead for SOS.  Merkley, Rosenblum  unopposed for US Senate and AG.